UTEP students win National ADDY Awards

University of Texas at El Paso

Four students at the University of Texas at El Paso have won American Advertising Federation (AAF) 2012 National ADDY Awards. The annual competition, considered the world’s largest advertising competition, is open to both professional and student entries.

In the advertising and design industry, it is considered a high honor to win a national ADDY. Given the number of entries, only a small number throughout the country make it to the national competition each year. This year, there were 5,597 student entries for the ADDY competition. Of these, 41 were awarded silver and 25 were awarded gold ADDYs.

UTEP senior Alejandro Cardona Deita earned a gold ADDY award in packaging for client Inusitatus, a curiosity shop; senior Berenice Mendez earned a gold ADDY award for her poster design Thank You for Shopping with Us, created for Peace of Art, a poster exhibit to bring attention to and protest drug-related violence in Juárez; and recent graduate , Daniel B. McDonald won a gold ADDY award for a poster campaign titled Local Eats is Good Eats, for client Good Eats.

Victor M. Portillo received a silver ADDY award for logo design for client West Ride Cyclery.

The ADDY Awards are a three-tiered competition held on local, regional and national levels. Work entered in the AAF contest for 2012 was completed in 2011.

UTEP students entered and were winners in the local El Paso competition held in February 2012. All UTEP students advanced to the regional competition and ultimately to the national level competition held in June.

Other gold ADDY awards recognized work from some of the most prestigious art and design schools in the United States, including Art Center College of Design, Ringling College of Art and Design, VCU School of Mass Communication, Miami Ad School, and others. Only Art Center College of Design, considered by many designers to be the most prestigious design school in the country, won as many gold awards as students at UTEP.

UTEP students have never before won multiple awards in one year.



Powered by WordPress